Taylor Swift’s New LP ‘Folklore’

It’s been just a couple of days that Taylor Swift’s last release Folklore is obviously a success. The LP was released on 24th July and sold one and a half mln copies in 24 hours right after the release. In 2020, Taylor Swift was scheduled to go on a world tour in support of her last year’s album “Lover”, but the coronavirus thwarted all plans.

Judging by the numbers, the LP saw the biggest debut on platforms like Spotify – almost 81 million streams in the first 24 hours. Folklore broke the previous record, taken by Ariana Grande’s 2019 Thank U, Next, which was 70 mln.

Apple Music shows 35 mln streams of the album, making it the most-streamed pop release in its first day. And critics seem to appreciate the album as well – Rolling Stone says “it’s greatest Swift’s album” and Uproxx dubs it “timeless”. It took Swift less than a year to make another top album after her previous release Lover.

Taylor Swift said in social networks that she recorded a new album, Folklore, in self-isolation, which became the eighth in the singer’s discography. She recorded new music in quarantine but was able to work alongside Aaron Dessner of The National, Bon Iver, William Bowery, and Jack Antonoff. Swift wrote: “Until this year, I would probably have thought too much about how to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we live in continue to remind me that nothing is guaranteed. My intuition tells me that if you do something that you love, you should just let it out into the world. This is the side of uncertainty that I can handle.”

The album includes songs written and recorded by Swift in self-isolation, and other musicians and fellow artist took part in the work on them: Aaron Dessner from National co-wrote and produced 11 tracks, and the group Bon Iver helped to compose the song “exile” and recorded it together with Taylor. The music team for the release also includes musician and producer Jack Antonoff, as well as someone hiding under the name William Bowery – fans suggest that Swift’s boyfriend or her brother may act under this pseudonym. The regular version of the album includes 16 songs, and the deluxe version also has a bonus track called “the lakes”. The artist explained that there will be eight deluxe versions of the CD and eight on vinyl, each with a unique cover, photos, and artwork. All of them will be available for purchase within one week.

Anastasia Fetter

Anastasia Fetter